Cooperation is key

Process Runway – from farm to fabric by Enschede Textielstad

Sustainable Innovations

12. September 2023

Local and recycled: Enschede Textielstad was founded in 2013 by Annemieke Koster to create responsibly produced fabrics from recycled yarns and local raw materials such as flax, hemp and wool for apparel and interior textiles. To keep the supply chain as short and regional as possible, one of the main focuses of the concept is to develop smart and circular uses of waste streams and local resources – for example, Dutch wool. Its quality is not good enough to make clothes from, and to date there has been no viable business model in sight for this resource – so it has been burned. However, what is not good enough for clothing may be absolutely sufficient for other purposes, so Enschede Textielstad now weaves fabrics from the wool that are ideal for upholstered furniture.

The same applies to linen – there have been no projects with economic viability in the Netherlands to date. To change this, The Linen Project was founded in 2019 as an initiative of Crafts Council Nederland and ArtEZ University of Fine Arts (see feature in also this Sustainable Innovations issue). In 2020, the two projects began a collaboration based on division of labor, with Enschede Textielstad acting as a weaving mill for flax cultivated in the Netherlands.

“We are bridging the gap between mass production and laboratory scale testing. We do so with a focus on sustainable, local and social production on the most innovative machine the industry has to offer. With our investment and expertise we help the industry move forward by testing new materials in early stages of development.”

ANNEMIEKE KOSTER, FOUNDER ENSCHEDE TEXTIELSTAD

This collaboration is accompanied by a new cooperative business model: instead of simply selling the fabric by the meter to customers, a subscription model was designed for The Linen Project. Customers become part of the supply chain and share responsibility for the process of harvesting, weaving and finishing. The fabrics are then sold as “lots”, with all the imperfections as these are part of the subscription.

———————————————————————–

THIS MIGHT ALSO BE INTERESTING FOR YOU

Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part II

It's safe to say that a return to joy and lightness is in the air in the world of fashion!


The latest accessory developments for Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

A big part of the collection consists of natural fibers with super light ribbons in 100% cotton, a linen braid-effect ribbon and hemp ribbons for a sustainable-oriented collection.


Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

It reflects the longing for positivity and offers new graphics, colours and weights. Summer is the perfect time to show character and put the shirt at the centre of the outfit. centre of the outfit.

Cooperation is key

Process Runway – from farm to fabric by Enschede Textielstad

Sustainable Innovations

12. September 2023

Lokal und recycelt: Enschede Textielstad wurde 2013 von Annemieke Koster gegründet, um verantwortungsvoll produzierte Stoffe aus recycelten Garnen und lokalen Rohstoffen wie Flachs, Hanf und Wolle für Bekleidungs- und Interior-Textilien herzustellen. Damit die Lieferkette so kurz und regional wie möglich bleibt, ist einer der Schwerpunkte des Konzepts die Entwicklung intelligenter und zirkulärer Nutzungsmöglichkeiten von Abfallströmen und lokaler Ressourcen – zum Beispiel holländische Wolle. Deren Qualität ist nicht ausreichend, um aus ihr Kleidung herzustellen und bis dato war für diese Ressource kein tragfähiges Geschäftsmodell in Sicht – deshalb wurde sie verbrannt. Was nicht gut genug für Kleidung ist, reicht für andere Zwecke jedoch absolut aus, daher webt Enschede Textielstad aus der Wolle jetzt Stoffe, die sich hervorragend für Polstermöbel eignen.

Dasselbe gilt für Leinen – auch hier gab es bisher in den Niederlanden keine Projekte mit ökonomischer Tragfähigkeit. Um das zu ändern, wurde 2019 The Linen Project als Initiative des Crafts Council Nederland und der ArtEZ University of Fine Arts gegründet (siehe Feature in ebenfalls dieser Sustainable Innovations Ausgabe). In 2020 haben beide Projekte eine arbeitsteilige Kooperation begonnen, wobei Enschede Textielstad als Weberei für den in den Niederlanden kultivierten Flachs fungiert.

„Wir überbrücken die Lücke zwischen Massenproduktion Produktion und der Erprobung im Labormaßstab. Dabei legen wir den Schwerpunkt auf eine nachhaltige, lokale und soziale Produktion auf der innovativsten innovativsten Maschinen, die die Branche zu bieten hat.
Mit unserer Investition und unserem Fachwissen helfen wir die Industrie voranzubringen, indem wir neue Materialien in frühen Entwicklungsstadien.“

ANNEMIEKE KOSTER, GRÜNDERIN ENSCHEDE TEXTIELSTAD

Diese Zusammenarbeit geht mit einem neuen kooperativen Geschäftsmodell einher: Anstatt den Stoff einfach nur als Meterware an die Kund:innen zu verkaufen, wurde für The Linen Project ein Abomodell konzipiert. Dabei werden Kund:innen zum Teil der Lieferkette und sind für den Prozess von Ernte, Weben und Veredelung mitverantwortlich. Die Stoffe werden dann als „Parzellen“ verkauft, mit allen Unvollkommenheiten, da diese zu dem Abonnement gehören.

———————————————————————–

DIES KÖNNTE SIE AUCH INTERESSIEREN

Die Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part II

Man kann mit Sicherheit sagen, dass in der Welt der Mode eine Rückkehr zu Freude und Leichtigkeit in der Luft liegt!


Die neuesten Accessoires-Entwicklungen für Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

Ein großer Teil der Kollektionbesteht aus Naturfasern mit superleichten Bändern aus 100% Baumwolle, einem Leinenband mit Flechteffekt und Hanfbändern – für eine nachhaltig orientierte Kollektion.


Die Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

Sie spiegelt die Sehnsucht nach Positivität widerund bietet neue Grafiken, Farben und Gewichte .Der Sommer ist die perfekte Zeit, Charakter zu zeigen und das Hemd in den Mittelpunkt des Outfits zustellen.