Circularity is key

Pre-Loved von Studio Sarmite + Roua Atelier

Sustainable Innovations

5. September 2023

From old to new: Pre-Loved is a biotextile concept in which new products are created from used post-consumer textile waste. In a unique production process, low-quality mixed textile fibres are transformed into a robust, paper- and leather-like material that is suitable for a variety of applications – from fashion to interior design and product design.

Designer Sarmite Polakova gives waste a new meaning in this context: instead of something negative, she perceives it as a surplus recyclable material that can, however, at the same time be a resource for the creation of something new – the focus here is on circularity: it is about the recyclability of the material; a product made by Studio Sarmite can be dissolved at the end of its life and the textile fibres can be used for the next production cycle. The lightweight material displays a processuality, revealing a new aesthetic and highlighting each previous life of a worn garment through nuances of colour and texture. It can feature marble-like patterns as well as hues accentuated by natural dyes.

“The term ‘waste’ should be seen as a surplus rather than something negative and thus can be turned into a resource for creating something new.”

SARMITE POLAKOVA

Cooperation is key – first Sarmite Polakova of Studio Sarmite teamed up with colour specialist Roua Alhalabi of Roua Atelier. The result of the collaboration is a groundbreaking dyeing method for blended fabrics based on natural pigments. The dyeing process is integrated into the production of the organic biotextiles and leads to a unique design language that gives room for surprising patterns and a certain playfulness. Moreover, the two designers have found a way to extract the dye during the recycling process of the textiles and use it for the next life cycle without the need for additional resources.

“Nature gives us a lot of resources that can be used in the natural dye industry. In fact, everything around us can be used to make color and support new materials. By using eco- riendly materials, we can become more sustainable and make a good impact.”

ROUA ALHALABI

———————————————————————–

THIS ALSO MIGHT BE INTERESTING FOR YOU

Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part II

It's safe to say that a return to joy and lightness is in the air in the world of fashion!


The latest accessory developments for Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

A big part of the collection consists of natural fibers with super light ribbons in 100% cotton, a linen braid-effect ribbon and hemp ribbons for a sustainable-oriented collection.


Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

It reflects the longing for positivity and offers new graphics, colours and weights. Summer is the perfect time to show character and put the shirt at the centre of the outfit. centre of the outfit.

Circularity is key

Pre-Loved von Studio Sarmite + Roua Atelier

Sustainable Innovations

5. September 2023

Aus alt mach neu: Pre-Loved ist ein Biotextil-Konzept, in dem neue Produkte aus gebrauchten Post Consumer Textilabfällen entstehen. In einem einzigartigen Produktionsverfahren wird aus minderwertigen, textilen Mischfasern ein robustes, papier- und lederähnliches Material, das sich für verschiedene Anwendungen eignet – von Mode über Innenraumgestaltung bis hin zu Produktdesigns.

Die Designerin Sarmite Polakova gibt Müll in diesem Kontext eine neue Bedeutung: Statt als etwas Negatives, nimmt sie ihn als überschüssigen Wertstoff wahr, der jedoch gleichzeitig Ressource für die Schaffung von etwas Neuem sein kann – dabei steht Circularity im Fokus: Es geht um die Wiederverwertbarkeit des Materials; ein Produkt aus der Schmiede des Studio Sarmite kann am Ende seiner Lebensdauer aufgelöst und die Textilfasern für den nächsten Produktionszyklus genutzt werden. Das leichte Material zeigt eine Prozesshaftigkeit, offenbart eine neue Ästhetik und hebt jedes frühere Leben eines getragenen Kleidungsstücks durch farbliche und strukturelle Nuancen hervor. Dabei kann es sowohl marmorähnliche Muster als auch durch natürliche Farbstoffe akzentuierte Farbtöne aufweisen.

„Der Begriff „Abfall“ sollte nicht als etwas Negatives, sondern als ein Überschuss betrachtet werden, der in eine Ressource für die Schaffung von etwas Neuem umgewandelt werden kann.“

SARMITE POLAKOVA

Cooperation is key – zunächst hat sich Sarmite Polakova von Studio Sarmite mit der Farbspezialistin Roua Alhalabi von Roua Atelier zusammengetan. Das Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit ist eine bahnbrechende Färbemethode für Mischgewebe auf der Basis von natürlichen Pigmenten. Der Färbeprozess ist in die Herstellung der Biotextilien integriert und führt zu einer einzigartigen Designsprache, die Raum für überraschende Muster und eine gewisse Verspieltheit gibt. Darüber hinaus haben die beiden Designerinnen eine Möglichkeit gefunden, die Farbe während des Recyclingprozesses der Textilien zu extrahieren und für den nächsten Lebenszyklus zu verwenden, ohne dass dafür zusätzliche Ressourcen benötigt werden.

„Die Natur gibt uns eine Menge Ressourcen, die in der Naturfarbenindustrie verwendet werden können. Tatsächlich kann alles um uns herum zur Herstellung von Farbe und zur Unterstützung neuer Materialien verwendet werden. Durch die Verwendung umweltfreundlicher Materialien können wir nachhaltiger werden und eine gute Wirkung erzielen.“

ROUA ALHALABI

———————————————————————–

DAS KÖNNTE SIE AUCH INTERESSIEREN

Die Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part II

Man kann mit Sicherheit sagen, dass in der Welt der Mode eine Rückkehr zu Freude und Leichtigkeit in der Luft liegt!


Die neuesten Accessoires-Entwicklungen für Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

Ein großer Teil der Kollektionbesteht aus Naturfasern mit superleichten Bändern aus 100% Baumwolle, einem Leinenband mit Flechteffekt und Hanfbändern – für eine nachhaltig orientierte Kollektion.


Die Fabric Trends Spring.Summer 25 – Part I

Sie spiegelt die Sehnsucht nach Positivität widerund bietet neue Grafiken, Farben und Gewichte .Der Sommer ist die perfekte Zeit, Charakter zu zeigen und das Hemd in den Mittelpunkt des Outfits zustellen.